top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeelie Longoria

MY PASSION FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

For as long as I can remember, I have always taken photos no matter what was going on, where I was, or who I was with - that is, until selfies came along. Overall, I loved taking photographs and videos for my High School during events such as the Varsity and Junior Varsity Dance Teams during football season or competitions. I also took self portraits for my own social media and brand. After graduating from High School, I did not have much, if any, direction when referring to what I would like to accomplish in the future besides my blog and YouTube Channel. I discovered my passion and love for photography when I took Photography I last fall which was a Film Photography class. Yes, the "old" type of photography with the dark room, red lights, and chemicals. However, do not be fooled by this process' age because the process is super fun and addicting!

This was a learning curve that I did find a bit challenging at first, but I accepted the challenge and I was mesmerized when I placed my photo paper into the chemicals for the first time and saw the image that I took beginning to appear! Above all, film photography is super rewarding and once I got the hang of the process, I was in the darkroom so much that it seemed like I practically lived there! Not to mention, I had an awesome professor and she always gave me feedback that helped improve every print, every assignment, and me as a beginning photographer. I am so thankful for this class because it has brought a whole new passion into my life that truly brings my joy and motivates me to want to travel around the world! This all happened last semester during the fall, now what about this semester? I decided to take my education one step further to include taking the Photography II, Digital Photography, course with the same professor! In this class I get to work with Adobe Light room as well as Adobe Photoshop, which means that I get to edit the photos I take while putting my own twist on photographs. I have discovered that I prefer Lightroom over Photoshop for the simple fact that it seems to be more user friendly for an individual, like myself, that is slowly coming into the world of photo editing.

So far during this semester, I have faced some challenges while transferring between the types of photography. The main concept that I had to get through my thick skull was that my film camera (Pentax K1000) was COMPLETELY manual, whereas with my Nikon D3200, all of the settings are digital and inside the camera - not on the outside of the camera body and lens only. Both types of photography are super rewarding and I still shock myself when I pull photos up on the computer and input them into Lightroom because I never seem to realize what I have captured. Sometimes, I do not believe that work that I pull off of my camera is my own because it is so mesmerizing! Out of the different types of photography I have done thus far, to include landscape, panorama, portrait, nature, and macro photography, I have fallen in love with macro photography. One day, I hope to get some beautiful photographs of a Monarch butterfly, that has been a goal of mine for years! You have to be in the right place, at the right time to capture such a shot. Also because butterflies are super fast!

I continue to face obstacles and rewarding experiences when I go out shooting photographs daily, but the one idea that remains consistent is that I never stop looking for inspiration and I do not allow many boundaries to hinder my progress. If I put my foot down about anything, it is taking the time to go out and take photos of anything really. This is a great stress reliever and the perfect way to gain zen when oneself is in need of it. If anyone is interested on how to begin photography or want to know more about my story, then keep an eye out on my YouTube Channel! A little treat is in the work!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page